Peanut butter and other delicious things

I love peanut butter. My older bonus daughter says that I am obsessed with it. And yet, I went more than two weeks without eating it.

Why?

Because it was on the top shelf and I was too lazy to get the step stool so that I could reach it.

Which brings me to the topic of cooking. I love to cook. Well, I used to love to cook. These days cooking is boring. It seems like a neverending stream of quesadillas, chicken breast, taco meat, corn tortillas, rice. Boring!

Don’t get me wrong, the food is delicious! Especially my refried beans. Sadly, I am on a restricted diet for my breastfeeding baby. No dairy, no gluten. Fortunately Mexican cuisine is heavy on corn, lighter on flour, so that works. I have not eaten baked goods since July. I don’t enjoy gluten free baked goods. I have issues with texture and the texture is just — off. :/

My refried beans … heavenly. My secrets? Well, maybe they aren’t really secrets, but here they are anyway. Butter. Instead of oil or lard I use butter! Simmer the TJs hot sauce in the butter. Then add the pintos with some of their cooking liquid. The beans taste best when they have been slow cooked in a crock pot for 10 hours. Add liberal amounts of salt. Mash and boil with the butter and hot sauce. I really love queso fresco with them, but that is off limits, so I eat with sliced avocado.

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

