How I fell for the maintenance man

Several of my friends who read this will remember how I used to refer to my husband as “the maintenance man” because I didn’t know his name. Yes, I was enamored almost as soon as I met him. And he was unavailable! But a crush on an unavailable man is probably a good thing for a newly single mother.

I met my husband on my move in day at the apartments. I had some ex-family helping me move, but my china hutch was way too heavy to carry to the third floor. His help was enlisted. I followed up the stairs and thanked him profusely for his assistance.

I did not notice his looks. I was not even thinking about men. I did, however, notice his demeanor. Something about him was intriguing. And then there was the way he looked at me.

A couple of weeks after my kids and I moved in he came to repair a few things that needed attention in the apartment. When he arrived, I was in the middle of bringing up my new desk, one piece at a time. I knew the policy that children could not be alone in the units with the apartment staff. However, my toddler was asleep in my bedroom. I asked him if it was ok for me to go in and out of the apartment with him sleeping in there. He looked into my eyes and asked, “Do you trust me?”  I gazed back at him and realized that I did. I was stunned because I was normally very uncomfortable around men.  But there was something about him. I just didn’t know what it was.

While I was carrying the pieces of the desk upstairs, he surprised me by coming down to my van and offering to bring up the rest of it for me. I was so grateful! He even offered to help me put it together. I didn’t take him up on that because I couldn’t tell if he was hitting on me. More than that though, I didn’t want my kids to be confused by having a man in the apartment.

Fast forward one week.

I was so impressed by his kindness and warm smile that when I had had a particularly rough day, I thought about him. While driving home, I asked God to please make him appear on a balcony across from mine so that I could see his smile. Seriously, I know it sounds silly, but that’s what I asked for. I walked upstairs to my apartment and when I walked by my sliding glass door I saw him. Really! On a balcony across from me! I ducked, went to the bathroom to check my hair, and then tried to look casual when I stepped out onto the balcony to move some boxes. (The balcony was my storage area) He waved and said, “Hi neighbor!” Then he smiled and I was a goner.

Leave a Reply

