Blending Families, Blending Cultures

When there is a parental opening in a family, two things may happen. The family will either remain without one of the parental figures in the home or a new person will fill that role. Within those two options, the world turns.

Several years ago, I became a single mom with three children. I was in my late thirties at the time and my kids (boy, girl, boy) were ages 9, 5, and 2.

I am from a caucasian, middle class, U.S. background. I earned a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts prior to becoming a parent. When my first son was born I dove headfirst into being an at-home mom, forgoing a career. When I became single, I had no idea what the future would hold for my children and I. One thing I did know was that taking care of and providing for my kids came first. Love was on the back burner.

. . . . . . . . . . .

As I completed a Master in Teaching degree a year and a half into single momhood,  I fell in love with a first generation immigrant. His two daugthers from his previous marriage have a mother who is also a first generation immigrant. His socio-economic and educational background are vastly different from my own. In my blissful ignorance, I entered our relationship thinking that our main cultural difference was food.

My husband and I knew each other for a year and a half before we became a couple. We introduced our children to each other just 2 months into our romance. At the time they were g15, b11, g8, g7, b4. His kids thought my kids were weird. My kids thought his kids were quiet.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Combining our two families has been an adventure with many challenges and joys along the way. The process has been greatly impacted by our differing cultural backgrounds. In this blog, I will share our experiences and how we have tackled them. We have now been together for 3 years. For the most part the kids all get along great. There have been some unexpected events, things that have had a dramatic impact on our family, but there are later posts for that.

Welcome! And thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

